Musical Birthday Cake

20140401-134615.jpgCake 3! January 2014, for my husband’s birthday. He doesn’t normally get a two-tier decorated cake, but hey, any excuse to practise! I wanted to try using modelling chocolate again and wanted to try out Jessicakes Blog wax paper transfer method from her Craftsy class, Clean & Simple Cake Design. I used the wax transfer method to get the horizontal stripes on the bottom tier and then used some musical note cutters to make the notes round the cake which play out the first two lines of ‘happy birthday to you’.

I’m still having issues with modelling chocolate. It was still a little bit crumbly and definitely not smooth and pliable like in the video class. I found it really difficult to roll out into a big piece because it was fragile, and ended up doing the lines for the music in two halves (the bars made it easy to hide the joins though!)

I tried out making white chocolate ganache to crumb coat the top tier. It didn’t go well! The consistency was really weird and nothing likeIMG_2757 the dark chocolate ganache I’ve made before, so it didn’t give me a nice clean finish, but at least I know to avoid it in future! (Or find some tips on how to make it work!!) I gave up on the top tier initially because the ganache was so bad, and switched to buttercream for the bottom tier. In the end I thought I’d carry on with the top tier just to practise, and the fondant hid the lumps and bumps reasonably well, but I am a perfectionist and I was not happy with it! It’s all good learning and practise though!! πŸ™‚

My husband loves lemon cake, so that’s what it was, with lemon buttercream and lemon fondant. He asked for lemon so that’s what he got!! πŸ˜‰

3 thoughts on “Musical Birthday Cake

    • Thank you so much! I’m still learning myself, but very happy to share tips and tricks I learn along the way πŸ™‚ The frame mold is by Martha Stewart – it came in a set of four molds. I got mine on eBay, but I’ve also seen them on Amazon and other craft retailers sell them too. Hope that helps! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

