Shoe Box & High Heel Shoe Cake

20140401-134734.jpgHere’s cake number 4! Biggest challenge yet and the most pressure (not from anyone else, just me!)

My sister-in-law asked me if I’d make her 30th birthday cake for February 2014. She told me I could do what ever I wanted. My mother-in-law gave me the idea of shoes as she’s always loved them! So I decided to try making a shoe box cake and shoe.

Ganached shoe box and lid

Ganached shoe box and lid

The shoe box and lid were both chocolate mud cake. The box was three 1 inch layers with buttercream in between, and the lid was a 1 inch layer, both 12 inches by 6 inches. I crumb-coated them in dark chocolate ganache and made black marshmallow fondant to cover them in.

IMG_2838I started the shoe a week before so that each part had time to dry and set. I cut up an old high heel shoe so I could use the sole and heal to shape the sole of the edible shoe. I made templates out of paper for the other parts and cut them out of gumpaste.

IMG_2841The bow, tissue paper and ’30’ were all made out of gumpaste too, and I hand wrote the name tag in the shoe with an edible ink pen. Another 2am finish!!

 

Leave a Reply

