Christmas Pudding and Christmas Tree Cakes


Time to get back up to date with the blog posts… These two cakes were from Christmas (no surprises there…) which doesn’t sound that long ago, until you realise they were from the Christmas before last… 2014!!! Which means my recollection of how I made them is a little sketchy.

I’d made a Christmas pudding cake before (see here) and one of my hubby’s work colleagues asked if I could make one for his family, with just the Christmas pudding tier, rather than the two tier version I did last time.

In order to make it a little bit different, I decided to add a jug and have them both on a wood-effect board. For the jug I made a smaller version of the jug cake I’d made previously.

I didn’t get a chance to take any proper photos as my hubby had to take it into work on the train and couldn’t wait any longer, so I snapped one quick photo on the kitchen work surface before he had to dash (please excuse the messy background!)

I made the wood effect board using the same method I used for the Jug of Roses Birthday Cake I made previously.

image

Christmas Pudding & Jug Cake

 

imageFor the Christmas Tree cake I followed a tutorial I downloaded from Sweet Disposition Cakes. The only thing I did differently was making a separate pot for the tree and raising the tree part of the cake up. image

I did this with the help of my new ‘Cake Frame‘ which I used for the first time. imageI have to say, I absolutely LOVE the Cake Frame!
It made it really easy to assemble the cake with food-grade supports, and it also made ganaching it even easier as the cake scraper slid round the smooth plastic edges of the base of the tree much easier than round a conventional cake board, which I’ve sometimes found can be a bit bumpy from where the silver cover is folded round.image It also meant the cake felt really stable and I could carry it around with ease without having to worry about it falling over.image

 

image

So December 2014 was a pretty busy month for cakes in the end. My first wedding cake, a three tier 60th birthday cake, and two Christmas cakes!

One thought on “Christmas Pudding and Christmas Tree Cakes

  1. Pingback: Toy Story Mr Potato Head Cake | Little Hill Cakes

Leave a Reply

