‘Olaf in Summer’ 3rd Birthday Cake

Olaf in Summer Birthday Cake

August 2015 saw our little girl turn 3, and as she was now old enough to understand more what was going on, I asked her what cake she would like… “FROZEN!!!” (I took it to mean the Disney film, notΒ a cake straight out of the freezer πŸ˜‰ ) We bought her a giant sized Olaf toy when we moved house in March 2015 and the two of them have been inseparable ever since, so I decided on a ‘Olaf in Summer’ theme seeing as her birthday’s in the summer.

This was actually my only decorated cake of 2015 as I was pregnant for 9 and a bit months of the year. I don’t do pregnancy very well as I suffer from hyperemesis gravidarum (severe morning sickness) and the sicknessΒ lasts from about six to eightΒ weeks in, all the way throughΒ until the placenta is out! My husband actually suggested it would be a better idea not to make her a cake at all and buy one, but I couldn’t bear the thought of not being able to make one for her when she’s the reason I started decorating in the first place. So I opted for a more simple design as a compromise!

imageI started making Olaf about a week before. I made his head first and all the parts of his body separately and left them to dry.Β This was a mistake making them all separately and leaving them to dry, as when I came to assemble him, putting a skewer through all the bits caused them to crack a little. imageI’m not sure why I did this as when I made the Minnie Mouse cakes previously, I assembled them as I went and left the bits to dry in between, and I’ve watched tutorials that tell you to do the same thing. I can only blame my pregnancy baby-brain!! πŸ˜‰ imageI formed hisΒ stick arms around cocktail sticks as I wanted to make themΒ thin but sturdy.

imageFor the two tiers I used the Cake Frame again (still love that thing!). I left a gap between the tiers so that I could position some snowflakes over the edge. I used my Dinkydoodle airbrush for the first time (Christmas present! πŸ™‚ ) which was great, but I could do with some practise!

imageI made the umbrella with some fondant and an umbrella mould, and used sugar for the ‘sand’.

The day of her birthday party we had a 30*C mini heat wave in London and I was worried he was actually going to melt! Other than some wilting hair, he survived ok!image

image

A month and a half after her birthday we welcomed her baby brother into the world, who we are all completely smitten with. And I waved a very welcome goodbye to morning sickness πŸ™‚

image

One thought on “‘Olaf in Summer’ 3rd Birthday Cake

  1. Pingback: Toy Story Mr Potato Head Cake | Little Hill Cakes

Leave a Reply

